About the group

Cam Valley Wildlife Group

Cam Valley Wildlife Group was set up in 1994 and was formally constituted in year 2000. bee-orchid-p1011547aThe group has always taken a pro-active approach to wildlife conservation and the enjoyment of wildlife. Its three aims are

  • to conserve the biodiversity of our area
  • to promote awareness and understanding of wildlife and its environment, and
  • to encourage the enjoyment of wildlife.

The CVWG area

The group’s area  covers approximately 300 square kilometres and is based on the catchments of the Cam and Wellow Brooks. It is centred roughtly on the Midsomer Norton, Radstock, and Westfield area and includes many villages and hamlets in the surrounding countryside. The towns and villages included are listed below. Because of the nature of wildlife recording, however, the recording area of individual projects does not always coincide directly with the political boundaries of the villages or the geographical boundary of the brook catchements, so you could say that our area is a little ‘variable’! The maps page shows our area and recording squares.

The Group

We are a fairly informal group and have three teams – the Events Team, the Newsletter Team and the Coordinating Team. We have a Treasurer and a Membership Secretary, and the various projects are each run by a Project Leader. The group has a constitution and a range of policies, including a Data Protection Policy that is available on our Data Protection policy tab. These are available to members and contacts for whom we hold personal details.

CVWG Group events

Events include walks, talks, hands-on conservation work, surveys, visits and trips. We hold an Annual General Meeting every November and the newsletter goes out to members once a quarter. The last quarter’s newsletter is displayed on the website along with a selection of articles from back copies. All back copies are available to members through a Members e-group.

The villages in our area

Cameley, Camerton, Carlingcott, Chelwood, Chewton Mendip, Chilcompton, Clandown, Clapton, Clutton, Coleford, Combe Hay, Dunkerton, Emborough, Farmborough, Farrington Gurney, Faulkland, Foxcote, Hallatrow, Hardington, Haydon, Hemmington, High Littleton, Hinton Blewett, Hinton Charterhouse, Holcombe, Kilmersdon, Litton, Midford, Midsomer Norton, Norton St Philip, Paulton, Peasedown St John, Priston, Radford, Radstock, Shoscombe, South Stoke, Ston Easton, Stratton-on-the-Fosse, Temple Cloud, Timsbury, Tunley, Welton, Westfield, Wellow and Writhlington.